top of page
Search
  • Abi

REVIEW: The Sun Down Motel by Simone St. James


1982 - Viv Delaney is on her way to New York City when she finds herself upstate, in the town of Fell. Taking a job as the night clerk at The Sun Down Motel to raise some much needed funds, but she soon finds that there’s something about Fell that makes her want to stay, something haunting.


2017 - Carly Kirk has always been fascinated with her Aunt Viv’s mysterious disappearance. With little else to keep her in Illinois she heads to Fell and visit the motel where her aunt was last seen alive. But she soon finds herself caught up in the same secrets and lies.



I had seen this book pop up on a lot of the reading forums/sites I frequent, and was enthralled by the descriptors being used; creepy, frightening, spooky and terrifying to name a few. Although I am far from a horror fan, I simply had to read this book to find out whether these reviews held any truth.


Firstly, none of them did. Secondly, I loved this book!


As I said, I am not one for horror, nor am I a lover of the use of the paranormal; as I find it difficult and somewhat unenjoyable to suspend my imagination to the realms where this is believable. However, in some circumstances, The Sun Down Motel included, the inclusion of the unknown can be enhancing to the storyline. There wasn’t a single point where I felt scared reading this book but I did feel the use of the supernatural made a character of the motel itself, just as Carly or Viv were, which was unusually interesting.


Told from dual timelines and two perspectives this story was compelling and pacy, if occasionally repetitive. I found myself tearing through each chapter and in constant thrall to “just one more” far too late into the night. I’m not going to go into detail with regards to the plot as I think any insights would be an unfair disclosure.


If I had to point out a negative then it would perhaps be that I had hoped for a little more from the conclusion. Although wrapped up well and befitting of the story, I did feel it was slightly rushed and I could quite happily have read a few more chapters. However, that certainly didn’t effect my rating or my advocacy of this novel. I highly recommend for all readers, even if this may not seem like your ‘thing’ at first glance.

1 view0 comments
bottom of page