top of page
Search
  • Abi

REVIEW: Cat and Mouse (Helen Grace #11) by M.J. Arlidge



Panic spreads through Southampton as a silent killer targets those home alone.


DI Helen Grace leads the investigation, but her steps are being dogged by another ruthless killer keen for revenge.


Can Helen catch the killer before she herself is caught?



I love this series and will follow Helen and the MIT to the bitter end, however, of late I feel the stories and scenarios within them are becoming somewhat repetitive. I lost count of the amount of times Helen got knocked down and quickly got back to her feet to “give chase” in this book!


The appeal of these books, gruesome murders aside, was Helen Grace herself. She was so unorthodox and unique, unlike any other Detective I had read before. Her personal life was twisted, almost to the point of perverse, and equally as intriguing as the latest plot. Now, I find that she is becoming more mainstream, and apart from her throwing out the rulebook when it comes to her police work she is turning into a very generic protagonist.


All of that aside, I still enjoyed the book as I always do. I always say in my reviews for this series that anyone considering it should really start at the beginning rather than read as a standalone. I reiterate that again here, but this time I think it is really required as a lot of the storyline relates to goings on in book 10.


* Thanks to Orion, via NetGalley, for this ARC *

6 views0 comments
bottom of page