top of page
Search
  • Abi

REVIEW: The Secret Seaside Escape by Heidi Swain


Tess Tyler has a high-flying career at Tyler PR, but working for the family business isn’t all its cracked up to be. When Tess’ dad acts more overbearing boss than caring father, she realises its time for a change. After a shocking discovery Tess flees to Wynmouth, the seaside town that helped forge some of her best childhood memories.


But Tess finds the town to be quieter then she remembers, and it doesn’t take long before she’s throwing herself into turning the ailing tourist trade around along with he help of her new found friends Sam and Hope. But when a familiar face returns to Wynmouth, Tess begins to realise that everywhere - and everyone - has their secrets, and her real life might just be about to catch up with her.


I remember feeling slightly nervous when Swain set Wynbridge aside and began to write about the residents of Nightingale Square. When I requested this title on NetGalley, and saw that she was once again veering from the well-known and loved, I had that same sinking feeling.


Well, I really should have known better, having read and loved every single one of Heidi’s books regardless of the setting. If I’ve said it once I’ve said it a hundred times - or at least on every review for Swain’s books I’ve written - it is the effortless writing style, delicious descriptions, and above all, the charming characters that keep me coming back for more! In fact, I never even read the blurb on her new books anymore, I buy/request them without a second thought.


If you have, or haven’t, read anything by Heidi Swain before this novel is the perfect one to get you in the mood for summer. Full of sun, sand, sea and…well, a few gorgeous men!



** Thank you to Simon & Schuster UK, via NetGalley, for this ARC **

44 views0 comments
bottom of page