top of page
Search
  • Abi

REVIEW: The Long Weekend by Gilly Macmillan



By the time you read this, I’ll have killed one of your husbands.


Three women arrive for a weekend getaway to an isolated barn deep in the Northumbria moors. Their husbands will be joining them the next day, or so they believe


However, when they arrive at Dark Fell Barn the women find a gift with a note that holds devastating news. With no phone service or internet and a storm coming in, they are stranded.


The evening spirals out of control, with each wife reacting very differently and no knowledge of which husband might have befallen a hideous crime.


Now is the time for reckoning.



Having never read anything by Macmillan before I was completely drawn to requesting this story due to the engaging synopsis. Had I known this would be the best part of the book I would read, I definitely would have given it a miss.


I absolutely love a good crime thriller, however, the burden of this can be that I have read some great crime thrillers, and this one didn’t even come close. Not only was the storyline lacking, but the overall reading experience was also affected by the decision to not use chapters which considering this story is told from multiple viewpoints was a huge oversight. Not only were there no chapters but this book was hindered even further by the fact there was no clear definition to those different points of view, so I often found myself wondering which character I had moved onto.


The writing was haphazard and frantic which I’m unsure whether this was done to try and create a frenzied feeling for the reader or was just the authors chosen style. Either way, it didn’t work for me. I just felt like I wanted to get off!


I’m sure once this book hits the shelves I will be in the minority with my opinions, but I have high standards for this genre and unfortunately this didn’t tick any of the boxes for me.



* Thanks to Random House UK, via NetGalley, for this ARC *

2 views0 comments
bottom of page