top of page
Search
  • Abi

REVIEW: Someone I Used to Know by Paige Toon



Then

Fifteen-year-old Leah finds herself inexplicably drawn to her troubled foster brother George as he comes to terms with his new life.

Theo has been enrolled at the local state school with Leah and George, yet mystery surrounds why he has left his wealthy boarding school behind.

As their world’s collide one summer, the three believe they have formed bonds of friendship that will never be broken…

Now

Leah has returned to Yorkshire with baby daughter in tow. But Emilie’s father, Theo isn’t with them, and George is also unexpectedly back on the scene.

But when life doesn’t go to plan, is half a lifetime enough to heal the scars of the past?

Wow, Paige Toon has really pulled all the stops out for this one! I’m still very new to her books, this is only my second one, and I can’t say enough how disappointed I am that I’ve waited so long yet equally thrilled that I still have all this catching up to do.


What I love about Toon’s books is that they are so much more than your typical rom-com. Her writing, and this story in particular, really encapsulates and ensconces you in every nuance of life, whilst remaining light-hearted for the most part.


Whilst these obviously lean towards the romantic, there is no stereotypical trope to be found here. The protagonists and their circumstances are so real that this story really lends a fresh feel to this genre. There are some tough realities dealt with in the book, but Toon manages to weave them into the plot tactfully so that they are not overbearing, yet they maintain the gravitas they deserve.


I won’t go into any more detail, but I highly recommend this book to any fans and newcomers alike. Oh, and I’d very much like to go and live on a Yorkshire alpaca farm please.

4 views0 comments
bottom of page