top of page
Search
  • Abi

REVIEW: Run Rose Run by Dolly Parton and James Patterson




A star on the rise – singing of a hard life.


A girl on the run – trying to lose a past and find a future.


She’s come to Nashville to claim her destiny but will the darkness follow.


Every country song tells a story.



I didn’t hesitate to request this ARC on NetGalley when I saw it. Not because of the fantastic blurb but purely for Dolly Parton. She is my absolute Queen and seeing her co-writing with James Patterson I thought this was going to be a book that blew me away.


Unfortunately, it didn’t quite go that far, however, that isn’t to say I didn’t thoroughly enjoy it because I absolutely did! I think this will be a book that divides opinion and that will fully depend on which author you’re a fan of. For me, it lacked the thriller aspect I think I’ve come to expect from Patterson, but I can happily admit I was here 110% for Parton!


It was a well written and fast paced story and packed with wonderful characters that all had interesting back stories of their own that complimented the overall storyline. The plot was somewhat predictable, so again, if you’re reading as a JP fan you might find it doesn’t quite pack the usual punches.


At the end the reader will find a songbook of 12 songs that are used throughout the novel and which Dolly has written and is releasing as an accompanying album for this book. Now, that I am truly excited about!! I would highly recommend this book, if you are a Country music fan this book is for you. However, if you’re reading as a fan of James Patterson, I think you’ll be disappointed.




* Thanks to Random House UK - Cornerstone, via NetGalley, for this ARC *

1 view0 comments
bottom of page