top of page
Search
  • Abi

REVIEW: Mad About You by Mhairi McFarlane



Normally I start my reviews with my own twist on the blurb, but I’m breaking the mould in this instance as I found this books summary to be quite misleading.


Whilst it does contain an element of romance I felt as though it was dressed up as an enemies to lovers trope and that was far from the truth. What I got felt more like a focus on the main protagonist rebuilding herself and her life after a toxic relationship. Gaslighting and emotional abuse are tough subjects, and I believe McFarlane’s depiction was skilfully tactful, especially considering it was woven into a story that contained more than one comedic scenario.


As anticipated , “Mad About You” was filled with realistic and relatable characters and whilst I didn’t particularly warm to Harriet I though Cal, Lorna and Sam were brilliant and I could genuinely imagine them all hanging out together in real life!


I think this book will be a mixed bag due to the deceptive marketing, which is a shame. I feel a lot of people, myself included, will review this unfavourably due to the need to adjust their expectations of the story.



* Thanks to HarperCollins UK, via NetGalley, for this ARC *

6 views0 comments
bottom of page