top of page
Search
  • Abi

REVIEW: Just Haven't Met You Yet by Sophie Cousens


Laura has made a career out of asking couples how they met and seeking the most epic love story for her relationship segment.


The only problem is Laura is still waiting for her own meet-cute. Thirty, single and beginning to wonder if she’ll ever get her moment, she heads on a work trip to her past. But when she picks up the wrong suitcase at the Channel Islands airport, she is certain this is the sign she’s been waiting for.


The case contains evidence of every quality Laura has ever hoped for in a man, and she is determined to return it to its rightful owner and hopefully meet the man of her dreams.


But sometimes Fate has other ideas for your happy ending…



This is the first book I have read by Cousens and I have to say it wasn’t what I was expecting. I thought this would be a light-hearted romcom, but it was actually far more centred on self-discovery and held a lot of poignant moments. Therefore, the synopsis, which speaks completely of romance, could be a little misleading.


I liked Laura, but at times I thought her actions and notions really didn’t reflect her age. At thirty-two I’m only a little older than this character myself, and I was often rolling my eyes when faced with her reactions and outlook, which I felt were befitting of a much younger, more naïve person.


That aside, I found the wider cast to be full of realistic and relatable personalities. I loved the developmental arcs they experienced and the real sense of community spirit on small pockets of this island. There was also some class-A banter to be found here.


I have never considered the Channel Islands as a holiday destination, but this book has given me a real hankering to pay Jersey a visit and experience some island life for myself. I would recommend this book if you like your romance to take a more secondary role in the plot, with a few laugh out loud moments along the way!



* Thanks to Random House UK, via NetGalley, for this ARC *

4 views0 comments
bottom of page